www.ice-graphics.com Forum Index www.ice-graphics.com
The main forum for the ICE-Graphics software
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Error Code - 0204
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.ice-graphics.com Forum Index -> Bugs and Problems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
km2



Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:58 am    Post subject: Error Code - 0204 Reply with quote

I wanted a way to generate some sort of parity for a very large directory consisting a mix of other directories and files with unicode. ICE ECC could do this but it always fails with that error message and google doesnt have any info about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:19 am    Post subject: Re: Error Code - 0204 Reply with quote

km2 wrote:
ICE ECC could do this but it always fails with that error message and google doesnt have any info about it.

Usually it's mean "Not enough RAM". Try to decrease block size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
km2



Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Error Code - 0204 Reply with quote

ICE Graphics wrote:
km2 wrote:
ICE ECC could do this but it always fails with that error message and google doesnt have any info about it.

Usually it's mean "Not enough RAM". Try to decrease block size.


Thats odd, I allowed the program to have up to 2gb (since I have 4gb total in a 32-bit OS), I will try your suggestion of reducing the block size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
km2



Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The block size by default is 1024 and gives that 0204 error. I cannot set the block size any lower then that because the program does not accept it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

km2 wrote:
The block size by default is 1024 and gives that 0204 error. I cannot set the block size any lower then that because the program does not accept it.

May be it's "Source block count" equal to 1024 ?
Check the field "Block size, even". This is value have to be reduced.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
km2



Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ICE Graphics wrote:
km2 wrote:
The block size by default is 1024 and gives that 0204 error. I cannot set the block size any lower then that because the program does not accept it.

May be it's "Source block count" equal to 1024 ?
Check the field "Block size, even". This is value have to be reduced.


Cant set the custom block size either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

km2 wrote:
Cant set the custom block size either.

Why ? ICE ECC allow to enter custom size directly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
km2



Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ICE Graphics wrote:
km2 wrote:
Cant set the custom block size either.

Why ? ICE ECC allow to enter custom size directly.

All the settings in this picture will either give me that 0204 error or it will just not accept the values.

Default Values: 0204 Error
h++p://img16.imageshack.us/img16/9197/iceecc1.jpg


Reduced Source block to 512, will not accept values
h++p://img198.imageshack.us/img198/4659/iceecc2.jpg


Manually setting Block Size until both fields are no longer red: 0204 Error
h++p://img16.imageshack.us/img16/5805/iceecc3.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

km2 wrote:
Default Values: 0204 Error

You try to use block size equal 390MB!!! Block size has to be reduced.

km2 wrote:
Reduced Source block to 512, will not accept values

You reduced not block size. You reduced source block count.

km2 wrote:
Manually setting Block Size until both fields are no longer red: 0204 Error

Again block size is not modified.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kriegerj



Joined: 25 Jan 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:17 am    Post subject: error code 0204 Reply with quote

trying to create a ecc file on a 31 GB data set.
Set maximum of memory possible (only 2 GB as the application is runing 32bits)
Cannot create ecc of more than 3% (or 1GB) as I get the 0204 error.

any 64bit version? what is the maximum data set / ecc size with 2GB of RAM?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:25 am    Post subject: Re: error code 0204 Reply with quote

kriegerj wrote:
Cannot create ecc of more than 3% (or 1GB) as I get the 0204 error.

Now ICE ECC require block size less than 20% of maximum memory.
You can create more than 3%, but check block size.

Planning to add solution allow to use any block size independently from maximum memory.

kriegerj wrote:
any 64bit version?

Not in near future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dhry



Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:35 pm    Post subject: Suggestion Reply with quote

Is it possible for you to create a small utility that will scan the number of files, check your available RAM, and provided some recommended settings for ICE ECC that will actually work and not throw the 0204 error? This way we'll be able to figure out the optimal settings without a try-fail-try-fail approach.

DRS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:56 am    Post subject: Re: Suggestion Reply with quote

0204 error generate when Windows can not allocated required memory block. It's impossible to predict when Windows can do it or when it fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dhry



Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:00 am    Post subject: Re: Suggestion Reply with quote

ICE Graphics wrote:
0204 error generate when Windows can not allocated required memory block. It's impossible to predict when Windows can do it or when it fail.


So then, something like "Error 0204 - block too large - trying smaller block.." so that the program automatically compensates. I've been trying very small blocksize values and I still get the error. I will try reducing the amount of memory to 50% as you recommended..

Dhry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:49 am    Post subject: Re: Suggestion Reply with quote

dhry wrote:
[quote="ICE Graphics"I will try reducing the amount of memory to 50% as you recommended..

It's possible to use large than 50%. But it's hard to predict, what the percent is a allowed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.ice-graphics.com Forum Index -> Bugs and Problems All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group