www.ice-graphics.com Forum Index www.ice-graphics.com
The main forum for the ICE-Graphics software
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Performance problems with ICE ECC v2.5 on old Athlon machine

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.ice-graphics.com Forum Index -> Bugs and Problems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thm



Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:11 am    Post subject: Performance problems with ICE ECC v2.5 on old Athlon machine Reply with quote

Hi,

I recently updated my ICE ECC installations at work (2.4 GHz Pentium4)
and at home (900 MHz Athlon) to version 2.5.

...Well everything went fine at work, but on my old home machine
(900 MHz Athlon, 768 MB memory) I was somewhat surprised to see
that v2.5 was going to take anything from 1 to 5 HOURS to verify
an .ecc file (& data) that normally takes about 1 MINUTE.

So, I went back to v2.4: back to ~1 minute !

...so I reinstalled v2.5 and investigated...

Multithreading seems to be the issue: this worked fine in v2.4, but if
it is enabled in v2.5 on my Athlon machine, then it absolutely crawls
[like up to 5 hours for a simple .ecc verification...]
Turn this off, and it's OK: back to about 1 minute for verifying the same
data (as it was with v2.4).

Any ideas as to what is happening here ?

-thm

PS. Thanks for the excellent ICE ECC Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:04 am    Post subject: Re: Performance problems with ICE ECC v2.5 on old Athlon mac Reply with quote

Bug in v2.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ICE Graphics
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:46 am    Post subject: Re: Performance problems with ICE ECC v2.5 on old Athlon mac Reply with quote

Try to disable "Low CPU priority". May be it can help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
harrissteve11



Joined: 14 Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I think you must need to upgrade your computer configuration for speed performance !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.ice-graphics.com Forum Index -> Bugs and Problems All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group